Mozilla Security issue?

I was using Google a while ago and all was well. Then I started getting this error message:

The links appear to lead to URL’s at download.com. I’m not an expert on hacking and other violations of security, but I don’t think this isn’t a message from Google. Especially because if I load Google’s homepage in my browser and search, it’s all fine. And if I use Internet Explorer, it’s fine.

The issue is only happening in my Mozilla-based browsers, Firefox Mac and Safari.

2 Responses to “Mozilla Security issue?”

  1. Sapphire says:

    Hmm. I WAS searching for “phpbb styles” when it started, but after that, it happened with any search. But it never happened in IE. Why would a search for “phpbb styles” bring up something like that?

  2. Jonathan Volk says:

    This actually happens in response to viruses that would search google for certain key words in order to find webscripts that could be exploited.

    For example, if you search for a certain version of phpbb, you will get that message.

    This is because a virus would search for sites with the un-upgraded version, and then exploit it from a personal computer. Hence the message.

    It doesnt have anything to do with the browser.

    -Jony

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Don't miss an article!

 Subscribe in a reader or get every article delivered by email